Just me a MOM..

Preemie life and Depression through my eyes.

Welcome home he said… welcome home!

Posted by Jenn on April 27, 2007

I had the opportunity to have some pretty awesome ladies stop by my house today. As we talked I realized that I am being blessed with people who understand when they are impressed to just stop by to say hi they do it. As they got to know me and my children we had a great conversation about Zach. Like most people I had to explain his disabilities and what happened when he was born. As I was talking about the amazing experiences that we have had having Zach in our family, I got the most amazing complement. One of the ladies started to cry and told me that I had such a strength about me. She said that I glowed with the Spirit of the lord. I have never in my life been told anything like that. I have had people tell me that I had a great testimony, but not that. We talked about the things I have been dealing with in my life and what I have learned from them. I truly have learned so much from the ups and downs of life that I have had. It was amazing to hear what they thought of me in such a short period of time. I know that what they said was true because that is not something that you can just “fake”. I have tried to live the way the lord wants me to live. The greatest thing in the ward is that every one is equal. There are not clicks or groups. Everyone has the same advantage than the next person. We are all children of the lord. Not poor, rich old, young, pretty, not so pretty.

Chad and I have the most amazing relationship. I could not have asked for a better husband. I love the fact that he would rather spend time with his children then worrying about money. We have more than enough to live with in our means. He doesn’t spend hours and hours at work trying to make another dollar. Dishes, and laundry will always be there. Sacred moments with your children and family won’t. I truly believe that statement. I have been blessed with a husband that really understands what the gospel is all about. Yes he has made some mistakes and he has his faults. That is not for me or anyone else to judge. He has made amends and we are getting help with those things WE as a couple (with the Bishop and Lord of course) feel need help. Nobody is perfect. Not one of us. That is the reason we are here on the earth. How many of you can say that the moment your husband walks in the door he gives you a kiss asks about your day and gets right down on the floor and takes over with the kids? Not many I don’t think. He is a rare breed. He works just as hard as the next guy to provide and take care of our family. He has given me the opportunity to stay home with my children and take care of them. We don’t have all the fancy clothes or all the latest gear. I don’t care about all that. I won’t be able to take my money and belongings to the Celestial Kingdom. I will be taking my family. That is what I am working on. Teaching myself, family, and my children the true gospel of Christ, Not what I think they should know. What the Lord has given me to teach them.

I am getting out of the house everyday and walking. I have more people coming over to visit and play then ever before. I know without a shadow of a doubt that moving was what we were suppose to do. I feel like I am in the right place. The best things are happening to us. I am helping those that need the help. I am paying it forward. I am working toward a goal that I have set with Chad. One that I am reciving amazing blessings for. I am working so hard to be happy. Its becoming something that is easy. I am not sad anymore. I am learning how to deal with the ups and downs of life. I take things now and work with the lord on them. I am healthier than ever before. I am a whole new person. It took a lot of work but it was so worth it. Making those changes in my life I felt I needed to make. Saying goodbye to some things were hard, Like Pepsi. Contrary to what others think about my life. I am so happy. I have a smile on my face 24/7. My children are healthy and happy. Emily talks like a 16 year old. She asks to say prayers and even asked Chad for the “special Prayer” the other day (Priesthood blessing.) She sat there and Chad gave a great blessing. Then she hugged me and fell asleep in my arms. We are trying so hard to make things work and focus on those things we have control over. Chad and I have made a commitment to read the scriptures EVERY night and pray together every night. We have not missed a beat. Even when we are so tired or onry we still read. We turn off the computer and the TV and spend time with our kids. No distractions. We sing and play and night time has become the favorite time for the kids. Take time to really get to know your children give them loves everyday. Sing and read with them. Zach knows what a book is what you do with it. He loves to listen to me read to him. He likes to eat books but what kid doesn’t. I just feel like I am home. I am finally home!

2 Responses to “Welcome home he said… welcome home!”

  1. hufstergirl said

    I am so happy for you! I am so happy that you have finally found your place in this world. I am so glad to have you as a friend and as part of my family. You are a wonderful person and a wonderful mother. Your kids are so cute. Ethan loves to play with Emily. When I tell him we’re going to your house he squeals and dances around. He just loves being with her and Zach so much. Anyway, have a good day!

    Alesha

  2. mom2mm said

    Sounds like things are going well for you. It is amazing what the Lord has given to all of us! I am glad things are looking up 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
