Just me a MOM..

Preemie life and Depression through my eyes.

Being like a pumpkin

Posted by Jenn on October 24, 2007

“We are sometimes like being a pumpkin, God lifts you up, takes you in,
and washes all the dirt off of you. He opens you up, touches you deep inside and scoops out all the yucky stuff– including the seeds of doubt, hate, greed etc. Then he carves you a new smiling face and put his light inside you to shine for the entire world to see.”

I really like this analogy. It seems kind of fitting for me. I am so glad that the Lord has faith in me. There are days I just don’t feel worthy. I have been working on overcoming this unworthy feeling. We made a commitment a few months ago to fully live like the Lord wants us too. We have seen the blessings that have come from living life worthy of the Lord. I can honestly say that the lord has done what that quote said above.  I love going to church more now than I have ever in my life. Watching my kids learn to love the gospel is amazing. I love listening to Emily singing I am a child of God. It’s so fun to see how much she is being taught. There are so many things that we have been blessed with since focusing on the Lord. Gas seems to last longer, we are finding the money we need to pay the bills we have, and we have a couple of things that are in the works for us. I had the opportunity to speak to 2 different Primary’s about Zach. It was the most amazing experience I have had since I had him. Watching the kid’s faces when I talked about what Zach can and can’t do was enough for me. It could have stopped there but I was lucky to have more amazing experiences with him. It went well and I have parents come talk to me afterward and told me that their kids were touched and amazed about how “normal” Zach was. I was told many great and overwhelming things. I was completely flattered with the compliments I got. Helping adults understand how to approach and talk to parents that have kids with disabilities was exactly what I have wanted to do for a long time. I would love to do that again and again. I was honored to share the story of my Son with many people.

Now playing: Somewhere Out There – Our Lady Peace
via FoxyTunes

One Response to “Being like a pumpkin”

  1. Shelia said

    It’s a good analogy and applies to us all at some point. Happy WW!

Leave a Reply

 
