Just me a MOM..

Preemie life and Depression through my eyes.

Big Girl Bed.

Posted by Jenn on November 4, 2007

It’s been a good weekend for us, lots happened and fun changes have happened in our home. Friday we spent the night together as a family and we watched movies while eating popcorn and tootsie rolls. Funny movie with even better company.

Saturday we were able to attend my niece’s baptism. It was so awesome to see how hard my brother and his wife worked to get to this point. I am so proud of my niece. She looked so beautiful in her white dress. She was so proud of herself. We also had a big change with Emily, One that we tried before. It failed miserably. We got her a big girl bed! Chad’s mom was cleaning out their basement and offered us Chad’s old bed to use for Emily. She was excited when we told her we were getting it. Once it was in place she freaked out and said that she wanted her crib back. We tried doing this about 9 months ago. We didn’t have a bed rail for her and she fell out. She cried and cried and asked for the walls to be put back on her crib. So at 1am in the morning we put the walls back on her crib. She did really well last night. She went strait to bed with out any problems. Today was different; there was “NO way in Heck” she was going to be taking a nap. Those were her exact words. That’s okay though, we kind of figured that would be the case. Tonight was hard she didn’t want to be in the bed alone. She wanted her crib again. I took advice from some friends and placed one of the sides of the crib between the wall and her bed so that it “felt” like her bed. She wanted me to lay with her. After about 5 min of laying there I had a hard time staying awake. So I sat up. I told her that I was going to stay till she fell asleep. She was funny she kept her foot pressed against my hip to make sure I was still there. It’s funny because that’s what I do with Chad. It’s my comfort to know that he is still lying beside me.

emilys-big-girl-bed-1.jpg

It’s so fun to see Emily grow up. She says the funniest things. She knows what to say and says it at the most perfect time. She tells me that she loves me a thousand times a day. My most favorite thing to watch is her interaction with Zach. They have a bond that I have never seen in anyone else. She talks to him and he understands and answers her. They are best friends. I am having the time of my life with these 2 beautiful children. I am so glad that I have chosen to be a mother full time. I know that this is my calling. Everything that we need in our lives will be provided to us if we just have faith and turn it over to the lord.

 

 

2 Responses to “Big Girl Bed.”

  1. Meesa said

    Yay Emily!!

  2. amyf4 said

    She looks like such a big girl! I hope it just gets easier and easier. My kids transitioned pretty easy into big beds. I was spoiled!

Leave a Reply

 
