Just me a MOM..

Preemie life and Depression through my eyes.

New beginings

Posted by Jenn on December 31, 2007

It’s been a long week. We have done lots of fun things this week too. Christmas was good for us this year. I was really glad that the day came and went fast. It felt like it took forever for the actual day to come. I wanted it to happen about the middle of December. I just hate how commercialized it has become. I got thinking about things. I am going to start a tradition next year where we give to others more than we get for ourselves. I want my kids to truly know the real meaning of Christmas. I will talk about Santa but I am not going to make it the main reason for the day. I want to get them an outfit and 2 toys. I will use the rest of the money to give to others. If I start now it will be something they look forward to every year. The kids get enough from others that I don’t need to get them a lot of stuff. As they get older the gifts will cost more. I want them to see what its like giving to those that cannot afford it themselves. 

So I did it… I got a job. I get to work from home which is the best part. I finished training so now I am “official”. It has been the best thing I have done for myself since I had kids. I feel like a whole new person. I love the fact that at work I am Jenn. I leave all the other hats at home for now. I have about 2 weeks before I can come home officially. It’s not going to be too long. I am excited to have something else to call my own. It’s been hard on the kids though. I missed them a lot the first night. Chad had to be the one to put them to bed and that has been hard for Emily. She fought him tooth and nail. Tonight she kept calling for me to make sure I was there to put her to bed. I work late but its only 4 hours a night so it works well for us. I am glad that I can do something fun for myself now.  I have known about this job since before Thanksgiving, but I had to reschedule the training 2 different times. It’s been fun. Very easy job too! 

I am so glad that things have started to look up for us. I hope that things go even better this year than the last few years have. I am going to ring in the New Year with my in-laws and then I have to head to work. I hope all of you have a great year and that you receive all the blessings your hearts can handle.

2 Responses to “New beginings”

  1. marlajayne said

    Just a quick note about the gifts that we give children. Today my sister told me a story about a four year old little boy who looked at his aunt and told her he didn’t want to open his present from her. “Why?” she asked. He told her he was just sick and tired of opening them. His grandfather commented that he hoped everyone was listening and really paying attention.

  2. Jenny said

    So what’s the new job? I so need to get something…Of course you are far from me…so it couldn’t be the same thing.

    I had the kids this year, draw names of each other. Then they had a $20 limit, and got to pick it out them selves. Nick gave Emma, High School Musical 2, and a Book of Mormon, with his “favorite” scriptures highlighted.

    Now THAT is the meaning of Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
